One early morning, before I could efficiently rub the sleep out of my eyes, I received a phone call from my sister mama friend with a hopeful curiosity voicing the statement, “Tahirih, so you believe that if you don’t know where you come from or know your history that you can be fulfilled, but how do you know where you are going or who you are?” Oh, I was pumped with that question because see…this is the stuff I like to discuss. This is that conversation that is beneficial to our soul development as humans on planet earth.

Considering the benefits of such a statement and the nutrients that can be unrolled from it, as I rolled over out of my bed to let my feet touch the ground, I stopped her in the track of her running thoughts to ask, “Where is this coming from?” I held the line a few moments as she searched for her source then replied, “Tahirih, you wrote on your blog,

‘Something interesting about not knowing your history is its similarity to not knowing the future – there is nothing you can see with your eyes as a reference point. Yet, NOW lies the opportunity to create your own story’.

What do you mean by that?”

. . . She’s right, I did write that :). It’s the first short excerpt I posted to my blog and shared on my social sites, Letting Me Be. . .

Writing, posting, sharing and adjusting to technology/social media ages had been a challenge for me; one that I am learning to understand and working with.
🤔🤔🤔

I was so stunned and grateful to share my insights with her I could pour out wells of my personal thoughts and beliefs on the concern.

 


I am left powerless when I believe  the only way I can live a joyful life, one of peacefulness and contentment, is through the uncovering of the unknown Self in connection to my past.

I have been a witness through my very own cycles of life that history repeats itself and is always coming back around. I also know to fret not because some cycles can be changed and the only way to meet in the chakra center of it 

💛💚💙

..is to prepare who I will be before it ever arrives then when I view it with my own eyes, center myself in the present moment to connect my thoughts, core values and belief system to something greater than me.

If not for always ,, for the moment.

It is only then do I see that nothing matters more to my future than this moment here, gifted to me by our Creator in the present.

You know, I wrote a few words about allowing Self to flow from there to here called “Present Evolution”. 🌻✨ 

And there it is. Boom.
A shift just happened.
Whole new space, whole new place
I felt it coming as I was going.
Discomfort, anger, helplessness
Desire to win, anticipation, surrender
Then we sorta aligned.
Here is authoritative, reassuring, sensed, easy in peace, self-ruling, prosperous.
Here is closer to you.

     Then I realized, the message doesn’t have enough “meat” for some to desire to digest; it is not salivating.

Afterward, my mind wandered over to the prayer that people love but hardly ever remembers to apply when it counts:

“God please grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference. Living one day at a time; enjoying one moment at a time; accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it; trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His Will; that i may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him Forever in the next. Amen.”

When I speak the Serenity Prayer, I am asking God to supply me with serenity to allow me to accept what cannot be changed. The past, is that something that can be changed? No, so I must be serene in accepting whatever I know from it or don’t know from it. Immediately following acceptance, when I speak this prayer I ask for courage to change the things I can change, meaning, those things are in my power to do so, but I may need guidance (the past is not in my power to do so whether I am aware of the events in it or not, otherwise I’d go back and do all sorts of manipulating). So I ask for courage, but in order to successfully achieve that, I must have a very real and honest conversation with myself, acknowledging the truth about what can and cannot be changed to determine if acceptance is needed in this moment or courage in this moment – when I speak this prayer, I am asking for wisdom. As I go on speaking the prayer I learn that the past is not here, the future is over there and the way to peace and happiness is through living one day at a time; enjoying one moment at a time; therefore, indicating that the achievement of those things are found in the present moment of time.

The prayer concludes with the phrase “…that I may be supremely happy with Him forever in the next”. Could this be referring to the next moment? The next culmination of moments that phased into a new Evolution which then becomes your Present? Could this mean that my happiness grows with each passing moment? When I speak this prayer I am proclaiming, with acceptance, hardships pave the way for my peace and surrender is the key to access eternal happiness and I, therefore, do not have to be a product of my past but the creator of this moment and all thereafter?

If I am serene in accepting the past or in accepting that I don’t know where I come from, the mistakes I made are behind me; I cannot go back undo or redo. If I can get to a place of serenity to accept that, I can ask for courage to do what comes next and the only way to look for direction on what comes next is to hop onto the current, fix my eyes into the present and live here in each moment making decisions and choices that will direct me to my future.

This all shows me what I am capable of and shows me who I am and leads me to who I am becoming.

But I gotta keep going, I gotta move forward, I gotta accept and surrender and be courageous; not in the future, but NOW. Because NOW is where my future begins.

I must be mindful that NOW is also a culmination of past thoughts, spoken word and actions that led me here, therefore, time needs to pass for events to complete their karmic cycle and unfold. NOW is when I put a stop to it all by believing and confessing differently than ever before…

Her phone call that early morning reignited the realization that too often many of us let our past path dictate our destination path, failing to realize that our past path is behind us and if we continue forward it no longer exists as a tangible, available path for us to travel on. The only way we can get on our past path is to mentally turn around and intentionally or subconsciously  focus our attention on it to get there. Some things will be muscle memory that we will just remember without thought, but it ultimately emotionally takes us aback and physically leaves us stuck, stagnant and more importantly, powerless. That is all only if we are aware of our history.

When I wrote that statement of “not knowing your history”, I was specifically referring to the kidnapping of Afrakans from their homeland for the purpose of building America where the Afrakans, evolved into the “divided and conquered, African Americans”.

 


 

. . I can find inspiration and empowerment of who I AM through almost anything . .

 


Although our ancestors suffered a tremendous, unbearable deal having been stripped of their humanity, they physically built an entire nation in which we were born from. That is the greatest, most exceptional embodiment of strength and durability that lived hundreds of years.

Mentally chained and confined by the system of America, yet physically and spiritually capable of moving, lifting, walking, running, shouting, screaming, dancing, building, clapping, stomping and fighting for desired results and living their way to freedom. This was maintained for hundreds of years.

If this were not so, then how could I be here today? How could we exist today? It is all because of them. The slavery era deeply reveals to us all the rich gold and treasure that lives within our beautiful, durable, vessels. It’s time to celebrate and appreciate knowing that about us. And to me, that is all we need to know and if any other thoughts or ideals that we have about it doesn’t serve the building of our individual nation, our person, higher selves, our generation, our Creator, let it fall to the waste side.

In present day, our past could certainly reveal much about who we are today and simultaneously show us who we are but no longer want to be. It is my understanding, however, the old way wants to be forgotten if it is used, raggedy, worn and no longer serves a purpose.

Do the old way a favor : let it go.

The key is to choose who we are and choose what we want to remember wisely. Some thoughts and beliefs that we have about ourselves do not serve who we want to be and therefore keep us from getting on our desired destination path. The past path is not always the best route to take to get to your destination, if it is even a materially accessible path.

 

So what does one do after letting the past have such a hold on their evolution and has now chosen to operate at their higher level to reach their chosen destination?

It’s simple : Make consistent choices that support said destination.

It is all a choice: either you will choose to tap in to the insights of who you are designed to be, the insights gifted to you by our Creator -or- you will choose to live an unconscious life sleeping on the insights, sleep walking throughout the remainder of your life existence on planet earth, chained by your story of who you are rather than  f r e e d by who it is that you are oh so deeply, intrinsically  d e s i g n e d  to become.

Will you choose to ask for serenity, courage and wisdom to surrender to His Will and face whatever obstacles and opportunities before you wholeheartedly?

.. E X P E R I E N C E ..

✨ F r e e d o m ✨

. . I CAN  m o v e . .

To learn more on Afrakan healing and spirituality click here.

5 responses to “Who Do You Think You Are?”

  1. I love you my friend

    Like

  2. This was very beautiful and help for me cousin, somethings I wasn’t understanding and needed clarity on! And your prayer was something similar to mines!!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Channie! I am happy this was helpful for you. I believe we don’t have to carry our past with us to elevate to the life we deserve. It is truly a lot simpler and lighter than that. Thank you so much for taking your time out to lend your heart eyes to reading my post.

      Like

  3. […] months without anything to show that I am doing this thing for real. Then one week, I scheduled a post and did not transfer the schedule post date to my physical calendar because I wanted to edit, review […]

    Like

Leave a comment